The Extra Thing

Discussion in 'Bards Corner' started by TomH, Sep 13, 2016.

1. TomH

TomH Well-Known Member

The Extra Thing

Virginia and I had our "people" we adopted. Hers were the older folks.
    Mine were the youngsters.

We lived in a mixed neighborhood. Primarily black. Professionals to skilled laborer. The projects a few blocks to the west.
    Most weekends would find me outside doing the yard work. It's also when the kids would be roaming the streets. Occasionally there would be one or two who would stop looking for work. A quick few dollars for a little sweat.

Most of the kids just wanted to rush through, get paid, run to the store.
    There were a few who would linger. Hang around and want to talk. They were the ones who would want to do a good job as well as getting a payday.
    One young man in particular had a dozen questions. What did I do for a living? Did I like it? How much money did I make? (Still young enough to not know it's not polite to ask.)
    He asked if he could come back the next week. Sure he could!
    One of my "weeding out" systems was to set a time for them to be here. Next Saturday, nine am sharp. Some would show up on Saturday, most of them would show up sometime after nine. They were given a small job. Weed the flower bed for five bucks. If that discouraged them, I just never had work to do after that.
    This young man showed up on Saturday. At eight forty five.
    It was the beginning of a summers relationship. I began teaching. Things like mowing in straight lines. Cutting the grass in different directions each time. Bending down and pulling the grass around the sign posts and light poles.
    I taught him that work was competitive. When he got out of school, there were going to be ten people standing in line for that one job you want. He had to be better than everyone else. Take your time and do the job right the first time, because you weren't going to get paid to do it over again.